1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	1st Session of the 59th Legislature (2023)
3	HOUSE BILL 1016 By: Lawson
4	
5	
6	AS INTRODUCED
7	An Act relating to Route 66; amending Section 1,
8	Chapter 412, O.S.L. 2022 (69 O.S. Supp. 2022, Section 4040), which relates to the Route 66 Commission;
9	modifying the appointment of Commission members; and declaring an emergency.
10	
11	
12	
13	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
14	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY Section 1, Chapter 412, O.S.L.
15	2022 (69 O.S. Supp. 2022, Section 4040), is amended to read as
16	follows:
17	Section 4040. A. There is hereby created until June 30, 2027,
18	the Oklahoma Route 66 Commission. The Commission shall be composed
19	of nine (9) members. The members shall serve as follows:
20	1. One Five member members shall be appointed by the Governor
21	and of which:
22	a. <u>one shall be</u> selected from the Commissioners of the
23	Oklahoma Tax Commission, whose first term shall be for
23	
24	

- 1 one (1) year, and then renewable for three-year terms 2 thereafter;
 - 2. One
 - b. <u>one</u> shall be the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Department of Transportation, or his or her designee, whose first term shall be for two (2) years, and then renewable for three-year terms thereafter;
 - 3. One

3

4

5

6

7

8

- 9 <u>c.</u> <u>one</u> shall be the Executive Director of the Oklahoma 10 Tourism and Recreation Department, or his or her 11 designee, whose first term shall be for three (3) 12 years, and then renewable for three-year terms 13 thereafter;
- 14d.one shall be an Oklahoma citizen with expertise or15experience in historic preservation, whose first term16shall be for three (3) years, and then renewable for17three-year terms thereafter, and
- 18 <u>e.</u> one shall be an Oklahoma citizen with expertise or
 19 <u>experience in marketing, whose first term shall be for</u>
 20 <u>three (3) years, and then renewable for three-year</u>
 21 <u>terms thereafter.</u>
- 4. <u>2.</u> Three <u>Two</u> members shall be appointed by the President Pro
 Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate of which:
- 24

- a. one shall be a citizen of a county containing a
 portion of Route 66, whose first term shall be for one
 (1) year, and renewable for three-year terms
 thereafter, <u>and</u>
- 5 b. one shall be a city manager, assistant city manager, or economic development director for a municipality on 6 7 Route 66 with a population greater than ten thousand (10,000), whose first term shall be for two (2) years, 8 9 and renewable for three-year terms thereafter, and. one shall be an Oklahoma citizen with expertise or 10 C. experience in historic preservation, whose first term 11 12 shall be for three (3) years, and then renewable for 13 three-year terms thereafter; and

14 5. 3. Three Two members shall be appointed by the Speaker of
15 the Oklahoma House of Representatives of which:

- a. one shall be a citizen of a county containing a
 portion of Route 66, whose first term shall be for one
 (1) year, and then renewable for three-year terms
 thereafter,
- b. one of whom shall be a business owner whose business
 is located along Route 66 within a city or town whose
 population is less than ten thousand (10,000), whose
 first term shall be for two (2) years, and then
 renewable for three-year terms thereafter, and.

1	c. one shall be an Oklahoma citizen with expertise or
2	experience in marketing, whose first term shall be for
3	three (3) years, and then renewable for three-year
4	terms thereafter.
5	B. The Commission shall utilize the Oklahoma Route 66
6	Commission Revolving Fund as authorized in Section $\frac{2}{4041}$ of this
7	act <u>title</u> .
8	SECTION 2. It being immediately necessary for the preservation
9	of the public peace, health or safety, an emergency is hereby
10	declared to exist, by reason whereof this act shall take effect and
11	be in full force from and after its passage and approval.
12	
13	59-1-5230 JL 12/15/22
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	